Forgotten your password?
Username Password

Horam & District Lawn Tennis Association

to the
Horam and District
Lawn Tennis Association

In November 1975, Paul Philbrook of Horam Tennis Club, along with Blackboys, Cross-in-Hand, Mayfield, Hailsham, East Hoathly, Newick & Wadhurst clubs held the inaugural meeting of The Horam & District Lawn Tennis Assocation with the objective of promoting a league competition for clubs in the area.

Another meeting was held in early 1976 with Cross-in-Hand, Mayfield, East Hoathly, Horam Newick & Wadhurst agreeing to partake in the 1st season of the Horam League.

In 1977, it was agreed that a Mixed Doubles competition would be played for a trophy at 30p per couple. Also in 1977, it was agreed that since the Horam League was set up to give players not of a county league standard an opportunity to play against similar players from other clubs. No one who is involved in coaching should participate.

In 1984, Maresfield & Nutley were admitted into the Horam League. It was also agreed that no matches took place on Bank Holidays.

1985 saw the first proper KO competition take place & this has continued each year ever since.
1988 saw the arrival of 3 new clubs - Barcombe, Danehill & Horsted Keynes.
In 1990, 2 divisions were created to accommodate the 11 existing teams & the arrival of a 2nd Cross-in-Hand team.
Since the turn of the Millennium, the League has increased to 3 divisions consisting of 6 teams each with some very competitive tennis being play

2022 fixtures now online